Never trust a quiet toddler or thank god crayons are so washable

I thought it was weird that as I wrote my last blog both “S” and “A” were being quiet. Neither were yelling or whining or playing the “pay attention to me” game. Well turns out, in the 10-15 minutes it took me to write, the toddler had somehow located a small piece of purple crayon and was drawing on her play kitchen as her little sister watched, somehow amused by this.

Now I know the trolls will say, “Well why weren’t you watching your kids.” Some of which have no idea what life is like with a toddler. So to this let me clarify. I am sitting in the living room with my children. The living room is sectioned off by a toddler play pen. Also, toddlers are flippin ninjas sometimes. We had been coloring last night but I’m pretty sure I surveyed the entire area for dropped crayons. But apparently I missed one.

Of course, my first instinct was to get upset but then I laughed. There’s no point in getting upset when I clearly could of prevented this. Besides, crayons are very easily cleaned off of plastic toys. The funniest part of this, is the fact that it so perfectly shows that my life is all about my kids. It mirrors my biggest struggle in getting my writing done. There is always a diaper to change, a nose to wipe, homework to be checked, dinner to be made, or whatever else my beautiful family throws at me. And quite honestly, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I love my crazy and sometimes chaotic family. If anything is going to keep me from writing it should be this life that I’ve created for myself.

(Authors note: this blog took me almost 45 minutes to write. Thanks girls for keeping mama on her toes)

Posted by

Plus size model, international spy, and habitual liar.

4 thoughts on “Never trust a quiet toddler or thank god crayons are so washable

Leave a Reply

