They deliver pizza on Thanksgiving right?

I found out that I’m hosting family Thanksgiving this year. 6 years ago this wouldn’t have been such a big deal. I have exactly one family member in town, my awesome brother. But my husband comes from a medium/large size family so now I am hosting 14 people for turkey day festivities.

I must say at first I was like “Wait…what?” But then I remembered that I thrive during the holidays. My husband was raised without really celebrating holidays and in my family holidays were huge. So to make up for the fact that my husband never had any I tend to go big or go home. I’ve hosted a lot of our family holidays over the years. I love challenging myself to create the best meal so that everyone goes home with happy tummies and good memories to share.

That being said I think the largest group I’ve hosted (an actual sit down dinner) was maybe 8 people. This will be a true test of my inner Martha. My sister in law, bless her, sent me a text message today asking if I was up for the challenge. She was so sweet in telling me that it’s a day for enjoyment, for mamas too. I thought about it for a second and replied, “It’s absolutely fine. I love the holidays, even if they are stressful.” Again I say that I thrive in these situations. Under pressure I somehow go into superhero mode and get it done! But thankfully my sister in law also offered to bring a few of the sides or even make recipes I give her to better compliment the meal I am planning. (Have I mentioned how much I love her?) 

I have already starting looking for new tablecloths for the two tables we will need to push together to accommodate everyone, Googling Thanksgiving table layouts, (And by googling we both know I went to MarthaStewart.com), and pulling out every amazing recipe I could find in my repertoire. Now to decide what Thanksgiving theme I am going for… Cutesy Turkey Day (for the few kiddos that will be here), Glitzy and Gold Thanksgiving, Modern Chic, Traditional Southern Feast, or Comfortable Midwest. (Haha, I actually sound like I know what I’m talking about)

Luckily the words of my mother in law ring in my head during situations like this. “Don’t worry honey, we aren’t GOOD company.” Meaning…I don’t have to break my back trying to impress everyone. Flaws and all we love each other. Burned cornbread or clumpy gravy. We are family.

Now we normally make ham instead of turkey for Thanksgiving…and Christmas…and Easter…and like once a month because ham is delicious…. but what dishes do you love to make for Thanksgiving? And what foods do your kids absolutely hate? Feel free to post a comment below!

And while you are thinking about your favorite dishes here’s a list of every “Friends” Thanksgiving episode ranked from worst to best by BuzzFeed! Friends Thanksgivings!

Posted by

Plus size model, international spy, and habitual liar.

Leave a Reply

