Yes I donated to Planned Parenthood in honor of Mike Pence and here’s why

I’m sure you’ve probably seen on social media that celebrities across the board are donating to Planned Parenthood in Mike Pence’s name. Post like this one have been circulating for at least the past few days…

Done and done @ppact

A post shared by @amyschumer on

Huffington Post has reported on it. Buzzfeed has covered it. People.com has even posted about it. And I for one, am excited that it is getting so much media coverage.

2016-11-09

On the Thursday after the election, one of my friends posted on her Facebook that those of us who feel like we need something productive to do in the aftermath of the election posted almost exactly the same message above. Without hesitation I went on the website and made my donation.

2016-11-09-1

When telling my husband about it he just rolled his eyes. He doesn’t buy into activism at all. But I do know he would rather have me make a silent contribution than to be out protesting the streets. And he can’t help but acknowledge that a donation is actually making a difference, even if it’s just a small one.

Now of course I did the one thing I always tell myself not to do when I saw these articles popping up on Facebook. I went into the comments section. There is just a plethora of ignorant people saying that by donating, we (the people who have chosen to donate) are assisting in murder and should be thrown in jail. That we are going to hell. That abortions are evil no matter the reason. Overall, it seems many people are still ignorant to the variety of things Planned Parenthood does.

Planned Parenthood Fact Sheet

So here…let me just drop a few facts for those people in particular. (Some of which I found on npr.com and others I found on washingtonpost.com)

Fact: Abortion services account for only 3% of Planned Parenthood services.

Fact: About 35% of Planned Parenthood services are providing contraceptives to help avoid abortions by preventing unwanted pregnancies.

Fact: Another 35% of Planned Parenthood services is providing STD testing to both men and women which helps in not spreading diseases.

Fact: 16% of Planned Parenthood services is performing cancer screening and prevention.

Fact: Federal money is not allowed to fund abortions.

Fact: The 1977 Hyde Amendment allows federal Medicaid to assist in paying for abortions ONLY in cases of rape, incest, or to protect the life of the mother.

And that last fact brings up an interesting point. Some women choose to have an abortion because their life is in jeopardy. For so many pro-lifers to be saying that life begins at conception…who has the right to choose which life is more important. But that’s none of my business…

In fact, I don’t think it’s anyone’s business what women do with their bodies. Seriously. For myself, I am pro-life. I don’t see myself ever being able to go through with an abortion but guess what, I have friends and family who have and I still love them with all my heart. And I’ve never been in the situation where an abortion might have been necessary. So I can’t honestly say that I would never have one. So when it comes down to brass tax…I am PRO-CHOICE. No one should be able to make that decision for you.

And when religion is brought into it, I still don’t think it’s anyone’s business what women do with their bodies. Aren’t we supposed to love everyone equally? Aren’t we not supposed to judge? Aren’t all sins created equally? Can’t we seek forgiveness? These same christians who are up in arms over abortion I’m sure have sinned at some point in their lives. Heck, the very fact that they are judging is a sin right?

I get where they are coming from on a very tiny scale. It makes me sad when I think of abortions. But in the same respect, it makes me sad when thinking about women who are so afraid of making the choice they feel is right for them that they go about unsafe alternatives which sometimes prevent them from ever having children. Is that any better? Should they pay a permanent price because maybe they made a mistake and got pregnant.

And for the sake of argument. Let’s say Planned Parenthoods got closed. Planned Parenthood estimates that they prevent 620,000 pregnancies a year. What happens to those children that aren’t wanted? Do they go into foster care which is already over crowded? Do they get bounced around from foster family to foster family never having a forever home? How about the babies that are born and only live for a few short hours in tremendous pain? Is that the right thing to do?

And yes, I’ve seen what happens in an abortion. I’m really not trying to argue which is the right thing to do. I’m simply stating that sometimes you have to pick the lesser of two evils. Or rather that doesn’t even seem right either. That’s still coming from a judgemental place. I go back to my original statement in saying, it’s no one’s business what Jane or Sally do with their bodies.

Their bodies, their choice. Simple as that.

Donate to Planned Parenthood here

Posted by

Plus size model, international spy, and habitual liar.

4 thoughts on “Yes I donated to Planned Parenthood in honor of Mike Pence and here’s why

  1. I’m right there with you on this one!
    To your point about overcrowded foster care, where I live there are no takers. Children are having to be shipped to other cities. There are so many children who have to taken from neglectful and troubled parents—It is mind boggling!
    Forget about adoption, especially if you are black.
    Also, It just puzzles me that a lot of people who oppose abortion also oppose welfare.
    WTF?
    So you want to make me have the baby but you don’t wanna help me feed, house or care for it?
    Jessi, kudos to you. I’ll be looking into this myself.
    Thanks for an insightful and informative post.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for commenting. I am expecting some backlash on this post and I’m not even scared. The welfare part is oh so true. I just saw a meme the other day that was on point. It said something about “No abortion is wrong” and in the next part “oh look at that young girl with a baby taking hand outs from the government, get a job” and then in the last part it says “oh why are you working instead of raising your kids, that’s just wrong” I mean…damned if you do, damned if you don’t. I see so many kids in foster care about me and can’t wait until I get bigger house so I can give even just one a forever home and a better chance at life.

      Like

      1. Damn straight! Don’t be scared! Keep standing in your truth.
        As for my comment, I’ll revisit an old school black girl saying, “I said it, I meant it, I’m here to represent it!”
        🌹

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

