Happiness Challenge Day 7 – Listening to a new radio station

Ok, so this one is kind of lame. I’ll admit it. I thought it would be cool to listen to a station from a different city just to see how trends might be different and guess what? Pop music is pop music. Country is country. Jazz is Jazz.

I started out listening to a couple stations in California (Los Angeles area) because they’ve always had a good variety of stations. I switched it up to some New York stations but then I remembered that when I lived in Austin (Texas) I always listened to KISS FM, which I discovered a lot of cities actually have a KISS FM. I ended up discovering a station I really liked called BOB FM. They play a good variety of tunes I really enjoy. I equate it to the twin cities 104.1 JACK FM. And maybe that’s what it’s supposed to be. It was easy to listen to. But nothing really special I guess.

The other station I really enjoyed was Austin’s Independent radio station 101X. It’s a local alternative station so I actually heard a few things that I don’t hear on a regular basis here in Minnesota. It’s easily becoming my new favorite station. It also made me miss Austin which I found interesting. I haven’t lived down there in over 20 years now….ugh…I have to let that sink in for a minute. First, I’m old enough to say I haven’t lived somewhere in 20 years. Second, I guess I can officially quit calling myself a Texan. I guess I’m a Minnesotan now. Or well…I have been for awhile. *tear*

Anyway, I guess the purpose behind listening to music is to show that music can bring on happiness. Or at least music can make us feel a certain way. There are memories attached to it. There are songs I will listen to when I’m in a sad mood specifically to make me cry (Snuff by Slipknot gets me almost every time) There are songs I listen to to remind me of my childhood (Pretty much anything by Journey) And of course there are songs I listen to when I am angry and needing to rage (Feelings by Offspring is a great one)

The one thing that has been a consistent in my life is my love of music. From classical to country to heavy metal to dubstep, I haven’t found a genre I didn’t like…well ok…that’s not entirely true. What’s that genre that’s just a bunch of industrial noise? Is it Glitch music? Is it even music? I mean…who am I to judge art right? No…I’m pretty sure I can judge it…it’s crap. Just sayin.

Maybe I’ll do a blog where I list my top 5 favorite songs for each of my feelings? Would that be weird? Yeah probably…doesn’t mean that’ll stop me. But for now can we play a little game? I’ve revealed a little bit about my inner self by listing a few of my emotional songs. Now I’d like you, my readers (if you’re out there) to leave a comment with a song that means a lot to you. Not just your favorite song, although that’s a good last resort I suppose. But what I’m looking for is something that you really connect with or one that you can feel in your soul. So let’s see them!!

 

Posted by

Plus size model, international spy, and habitual liar.

Leave a Reply

