Yoga I Can Get Behind

First off, before I get blasted for “making fun” of yoga, let me point out that I know there are so many benefits of it. I myself have taken time to show “F” a few basic poses as a way to help calm her mind. (In fact, that’s something that I will be bringing up to her once again as a way to ease her anxiety) I have purchased the ‘Good Morning Yoga‘ and ‘Good Night Yoga‘ books for my toddler since she’s so “high octane” 24/7.

On top of the mental benefits there are also various physical benefits as well.

  • Improves Flexibility
  • Improves Muscle Strength
  • Builds Muscle Tone
  • Helps With Posture
  • Improves Circulation
  • Can Boost Your Immunity
  • Helps Drop Blood Pressure
  • Can Help With Sleep

These are just a few of the proven benefits of yoga. But I know there’s at least of few of us that have a hard time quieting our mind down enough to “sit still” or be all about the calm. 15122884_690256477790776_3663357825841332736_o

This is seriously how I feel every time I have sat down to try and do mediation or take some time to myself. Even sitting down to write my blogs is like..

cef8091a815232900483c93f395a5f2c

Anyway…where was I?

Oh yes…yoga… I came across an article on Facebook while I was being distracted from something I’m sure I should have been doing and this article mentioned Harry Potter Yoga. Yes you heard (well read) that right…Harry. Potter. Yoga. And I thought to myself, that’s something I would totally do…because I am a GIANT NERD. Which was a fitting thought because the article was actually posted here on the Nerdist. (One day I’ll be cool enough to write for The Nerdist) HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA Riiiiiiiiiiiight…..

Anyhooo……Here’s my short but informative list of weird yoga I would totally do..

  1. Harry Potter Yoga 
  2. D&D Yoga
  3. Goat Yoga
  4. Doga
  5. Aerial Yoga
  6. Yoga For Bad People
  7. Mommy and Me Yoga

Honestly, just your everyday regular in the middle of your living room yoga is good enough.

I joke about yoga but the truth is I know it’s something I should be incorporating into my life more. I don’t take time to myself enough. I give too much of myself to my children and end up being a ball of stress by the time bedtime rolls around. Maybe if I work it into bedtime routine I could get “F” and “S” to do it with me.

So there you have it, my two cents on some unusual yoga practices that I totally want to try. What’s something you’ve tried that should be on the list?

Posted by

Plus size model, international spy, and habitual liar.

3 thoughts on “Yoga I Can Get Behind

  1. Have you ever tried Yoga with meditation music in the background? When I get stressed at work, I throw it on my ipod and start relaxing immediately. It’s like a spa in my cubical. Works wonders. Not sure if I’m the most productive, but it gets the job done 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

